Homework Writing Help on The Differences in Halal and Kosher Food

The Differences in Halal and Kosher Food

Introduction

Both Kosher and halal are foods that are considered proper to eat for two specific religious groups of people i.e. Jews and Muslims. Linguistically, both terms are related. Halal is an Arabic term meaning permissible and kosher is a Hebrew term meaning fit or proper.  These types of foods describe a varied choice of foods and beverages to eat. The two foods have their roots from Holy Scriptures, the holy bible for Kosher and Quran for Halal. Both kosher and Halal forbid consuming of pork or animal clanof whichever kind.  We are going to discuss the differences of the two types of food Kosher and Halal and understanding of what each entails. The reason for differences is because both Jewish and Islamic traditions have strict dietary guidelines on what is good or acceptable to consume and what is referred unclean and intolerable.

Differences

First the contrast is in slaughtering of animals in both Kosher and Halal. Though, slaughtering is similar, Jews follow koshermethod which requires that no one should pronounce the name of God in any animal they slaughter. Jews think that it is unacceptable to sheer the name of god out of milieu(Campbell, Murcott & MacKenzie, 2011). Jews only make prayers on the first animal they are going to slaughter and the last one. On the case of Muslim who trail halal rituals must always pronounce the name of God on each animal they slaughter. Another difference is that, according to halal, any adult of sound mind can execute the slaughtering of animals. In the case of Kosher, only few people of rabbi, called Sachet, to slaughter animals. The sachet is trained and no other Jews are allowed to execute slaughtering. In Jewish law, there are requirements that knife must be more than two times size of neck and must be perfectly straight. For Muslims, there exist no requirements of the size of the knife being used.

Muslim cogitate the whole sheep or cattle as halal when duly slaughtered. On the other hand, Jews consider fore quarter of sheep or cattle as Kosher and hindquarter as non-kosher. Islamic law considers meat of wild hens, rabbit, duck and gooses as halal. On the other hand kosher law do not consider them fit for consuming. Kosher has no difference for enzymes considered. Jews only consider all types of enzymes from even non-kosher animals. On the other hand Muslims must look at the source of enzymes even before having them. In case the enzymes are derived from a non halal animal, this is forbidden for a Muslim. Kosher requires animals to be slaughtered as fast as possible and in humanely, and it strictly disallows slow methods like smothering. While halal requires that animals be bled out in anguish as sick people get off observing that kind have festival.

Under halal guidelines, no form of alcohol is allowed. The guidelines state that no food that is prepared by alcohol will be considered halal. Under the kosher guidelines, it is different in that alcohol is considered to play an important role in the Jewish culture. The guidelines are governed by the similar guidelines that apply to foods. Wine is used in many ceremonies under the Judaism. There are restrictions to the wine deemed kosher as it must be prepared by the Jews. Kosher puts limitations to other types of alcohol such as aged wine barrel and whiskey(Campbell, Murcott & MacKenzie, 2011). The other types of alcohol considered kosher are white tequila, Ryle alcohol, unflavoured gin and all beers. Also mead, brandy, spiced rum and liqueurs are consumed since they have certification that there are no non-kosher items were used in their production. Gelatin regardless of its source of origin is considered kosher. In case the gelatine is prepared by non zabiha, the Muslims will consider it haram which means it is prohibited. It is not always that food showing kosher symbols is not halal. In the case of Muslims, they require all Muslims even those from non-Muslim countries to follow Islamic law in the diet they take. They are required to establish their institutions and businesses to gratify for their needs of Muslim ummah.

In the kosher culture, there are various sects from Judaism and many Jewish kosher in US who require extremely liberal to their Jewish conservative rules. It resulted to be hard to come up with uniform opinion of implementing kosher practices. Symbol “k” that is used by Jewish is not governed by any authority. This makes it possible for any manufacturer to use it at will. In case of Halal, they have governing rules in their states that protect the symbols and make it possible for the manufacturers to have a certain symbol. In both religion, the animal is cut and the blood is drained.  It is required that spinal cord not to be severed. Death occurs within a short time and animal right organisations all over the world want the law to be banned. The religions require that the animal to be health, uninjured and alive when the slaughtering is done. In case of the Kosher, stunning methods leads to injury to the animals and this turns meat to non-kosher. While that of Islamic culture, stunning is still a debate on whether it breaks the rules or not.

In the kosher culture, meat and dairy are not supposed to be eaten together. From the book of deutronnomy14:21 and exodus 34:26, “do not prepare a young goat in its mother milk”. This is interpreted by Jewish culture that you are not supposed to mix dairy and meat together. The interpretation further requires that even utensils, pans, pots, plates, dishpans and dishwashers should also be separated. A kosher household is required to have two set of pans, pots and dishes. One will cook and serve meat and the other will cook and serve dairy. Even the time for consuming the two set of food must be defined that is at least five to six hours. On the other hand halal culture does not have all these issues about the mixture of dairy and meat. Another difference is from consuming of blood. From the scripture, Deuteronomy 12: 21-25, it restricts the consumption of blood as it says eat whatever you want to eat but do not eat blood because blood is life and you are supposed not to eat life with the meat. The bible says that you pour out the blood into the ground like the water. Therefore, the Jewish culture forbids the consumption of blood. Jewish culture bleeds and soaks the meat in water and salt to remove all the residual blood.

In each culture, there are strict guidelines that must be followed for the two types of food. There are differences that come up with the set of guidelines followed on each set of food. The set guidelines require that slaughtering be overseen by shochet, who is the man of faith in the Jewish religion and is trained in the proper way of slaughtering the animals. In case of halal guidelines and for meat to be considered as halal, slaughtering must be done in proper way and this does not require any individual to perform the task. Differences also arise on the question of sea food. In this case, there are beliefs from the school of thought that all sea food both with shells and scales are considered halal provided they live in water. The other school of thought is that only fish with scales are considered halal and this school exclude shellfish. They also argue that animals that live in water and on land example being turtles and frogs are not halal. On the other hand, for the sea food to be kosher, the fish must have both fins and scale. In this case, shellfish and mollusks are not kosher.

Another difference that comes out is word used to refer to food. In the halal culture, butchers and restaurants call their food zabihah halal. This word mostly used in halal culture and refers to process gone through by halal butcher and means that special care was done ensure all strictly slaughtering rules are followed(Regenstein et al, 2014). For the kosher culture, they use the word Glatt kosher. The word Glatt means something smooth. Therefore, according to this culture, it means that animal lungs have been scrutinized for imperfections.

Islamic laws emboldens, although does not necessitate that the animals should face qiblah. In the kosher foods, the animals’ blood is allowed to flow into the ground. The Jewish law prohibits that the blood be gathered in a bowl .There aren’t such prohibitions in the Islamic law. Although in practice the halal butcher slaughter and leak the blood on the field. The foods that are forbidden by Jews but allowed by Muslims include shellfish, crustaceans and sharks. Birds such as emu and ostrich are not allowed in kosher foods but allowed in halal food. Another one is camel and the reason for this is because the camel does not have split hoof.

Conclusion

In conclusion, there are various differences that have arisen in the two types of foods. The two foods i.e. halal and kosher also have various similarities. The similarities are that animals must be alive before slaughtering. Another similarities is that during slaughtering, the animal must be slaughtered using a sharp knife.In the US, companies preparing halal food have grown at a high rate. The cities in US that have large population of Muslims have growing networks available to them for halal products. There are of various types being groceries, restaurants and catering services offering halal foods. There was a strategy adopted by American Muslims that of eating kosher food that have a mark “K” on its packaging. Jewish rules prohibit consumption of pork and require the name of God be uttered during slaughtering(Bonne & Verbeke, 2008). Most of the Muslims while travelling always requests for kosher meals in the airplane flights. Muslims still wants to create a system of certification as that used by kosher foods.

References

Campbell, H., Murcott, A., & MacKenzie, A. (2011). Kosher in New York City, halal in Aquitaine: challenging the relationship between neoliberalism and food auditing. Agriculture and human values, 28(1), 67-79.

Bonne, K., & Verbeke, W. (2008). Religious values informing halal meat production and the control and delivery of halal credence quality. Agriculture and Human Values, 25(1), 35-47.

Regenstein, J. M., Riaz, M. N., Chaudry, M., & Regenstein, C. E. (2014). 9. The halal food industry.

Brown, A. (2014). Understanding food: Principles and preparation. Cengage Learning.